Krazy Kahoot

I now put it in my calendar to blog with an alarm….I am really going to try and stick with this once a week…

Since it is Summer I figured I should start the blogging thing again and I found this post sitting in my drafts. I also had another teacher ask me when I was going to post something again because they thought I was helpful….CRAZY! Now I have to blog again if it makes a difference only for one person (even if that person is me). Anyways….

Kahoot has been this crazy phenomenon at my school. The world language teachers started this trend and then it seemed like my whole school jumped on the bandwagon. In case you never heard of or used Kahoot, it is an application that the students all sign into on their phones or computers or ipads or whatever. As the teacher, I create multiple choice questions with answers and they have to choose the answer. The questions are projected on the board and they just choose their answers on their phone. The students who answer correct earn points. Here is the craziest thing about it and causes mayhem when playing: the faster you are, the more points you earn. Now, I am usually not about speed in mathematics but their are a few things I can see this being good for but first…

A typical classroom day using this looks like following:

1. Me: We are going to do a Kahoot today. Students: YAYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!

2. Students pull out phones and put in their names. (I make them put their initials and then whatever bizarre name they want. Nothing inappropriate or we don’t play….unfortunately that has happened before.)

3. Question # 1 appears on the screen and the kids all punch in the answer.

4. They see the leaderboard (top 5 people appears after every answer) and get excited and even more competitive.

5. This continues until the end and they ask if we can play it again….which makes no sense since they all know the answers now.

 

I did this with exponential growth and decay functions with some basic equations and identifying things like percent increase, start value, etc. You can use the quiz if you follow this link: https://play.kahoot.it/#/k/3e1b8673-47b4-40ea-a412-60d944cfb039 (Note: I have random questions like my favorite pop thrown in so you might want to update that)

If you have never used kahoot you should go to  https://getkahoot.com/ and try it out. Then you can snag mine and use it or make your own. You can also search for lots of other ones teachers have made and modify to your hearts content. It is pretty fun when you are looking for a quick activity and you want to just test if students can recall. Don’t expect to ask hard-hitting questions here or kids will just quickly answer to see if they can be first and not try the problem (learned that the hard way).

 

Leave a Reply

